top of page

What are 

Each astrological birth chart is divided into 12 different sections known as houses. Each astrological house defines an area of your life your horoscope or planetary transit refers to.


Houses 1 - 6 are personal houses. These houses rule one's private and immediate lives. One's individuality, daily environments, siblings and peers, parents, and one's attempts to define and express who they are. A person whose chart has lots of planets in the first six houses may have trouble leaving the nest, or may remain nostalgically loyal to childhood friends.

Houses 7 - 12 are interpersonal houses.These houses rule one's

relationships, joint ventures, travel, career, society, spirituality and even their transition at the end of life. Someone with a lot of planets in the later houses might be very career-focused, perhaps leaving the past behind and growing closer to friends made in adulthood. 


First House
House of Self

The first house defines the all “firsts”: first impressions, the self and appearance, leadership, new initiatives, fresh starts and beginnings. The sign on the cusp, or starting edge, of this house, is referred to as your rising sign or ascendant.

Ruled By : Aries / Mars


Second House
House of Possessions

The second house defines all matters related to your immediate material and physical environment—taste, scent, sound, touch, sight. The second house also rules income, money, and self-esteem.

Ruled By : Taurus / Venus


Third House
House of Communication

The third house defines all forms of communication—talking, thinking, gadgets and mobile devices. The third house also covers siblings, neighborhoods, local travel, libraries, schools, teachers and community affairs.

Ruled By : Gemini / Mercury


Fourth House
House of Family & Home

The fourth house sits at the very bottom of the zodiac wheel, and thus, rules the “foundation” of all things. This includes one's home, privacy, one's basic security, one's parents (particularly one's mother), children, one's own mothering abilities and nurturing.

Ruled By : Cancer / Moon


Fifth House
House of Pleasure

The fifth house is ruled governs self-expression, drama, creativity, color, attention, romance, fun and play.

Ruled By : Leo / Sun


Sixth House
House of Health

The sixth house is the domain of health and service. It rules schedules, organization, routines, fitness, diet and exercise, natural and healthy living, helpfulness and being of service to others.

Ruled By : Virgo / Mercury


Seventh House
House of Partnerships

The seventh house is the sector of relationships and other people. It governs all partnerships, both business and personal, and relationship-associated matters, like contracts, marriage, and business deals.

Ruled By : Libra / Venus


Eighth House
House of Sex

The eighth house is a mysterious sector that rules birth, death, sex, transformation, mysteries, merged energies, and bonding at the deepest level. The eighth house also rules other people’s property and money (real estate, inheritances, investments, et. al. 

Ruled By : Scorpio / Pluto


Ninth House
House of Philosophy

The ninth house covers the higher mind, expansion, international and long-distance travel, foreign languages, inspiration, optimism, publishing, broadcasting, universities and higher education, luck, risk, adventure, gambling, religion, philosophy, morals and ethics.

Ruled By : Sagittarius / Jupiter


Tenth House
House of Social Status

The tenth house is at the very top and most public part of the chart. The tenth house governs structures, corporations, tradition, public image, fame, honors, achievements, awards, boundaries, rules, discipline, authority, fathers and fatherhood. The cusp, or border, of the tenth house is also called the midheaven, and it clues astrologers into your career path.

Ruled By : Capricorn / Saturn


Eleventh House
House of Friendships

The eleventh house rules teams, friendships, groups, society, technology, video and electronic media, networking, social justice, rebellion, and humanitarian causes. It also rules originality, eccentricity, sudden events, surprises, invention, astronomy, science fiction and all things futuristic.

Ruled By : Aquarius / Saturn & Uranus


Twelfth House
House of Subconscious

The zodiac completes with the twelfth and final house, which rules endings. This house covers the final stages of a project, tying up loose ends, completions, the afterlife, old age, and surrender. It’s also associated with separation from society, institutions, hospitals, jails, hidden agendas, and secret enemies. And it rules the imagination, creativity, arts, film, dance, poetry, journals, and the subconscious mind.

Ruled By : Pisces / Jupiter & Neptune

bottom of page