top of page

Cleansing the Heart Chakra


Anahata Nad refers to the Vedic concept of unstruck sound (the sound of the celestial realm). Anahata is associated with balance, calmness, and serenity.

In Sanskrit Anahata means "sound produced without touching two parts" and at the same time it means "pure" or "clean, stainless". The name of this chakra signifies the state of freshness that appears when we are able to become detached and to look at the different and apparently contradictory experiences of life with a state of openness (expansion). Normally we are not used to the effect produced by the confrontation of the two opposite forces. At the level of Anahata chakra appears the possibility to integrate the two opposite forces and obtain the effect (sound, in this case), without the two forces being confronted (without touching of the two parts). This energy is specific to cooperation and integration, which brings peace and a new perspective in a world which, up to this level (considering only the energies specific to the first three centres of force: Muladhara, Swasdhistana and Manipura) was made only of a more or less conscious confrontation between opposite forces. The name Anahata suggests, in fact, the synergetic effect of the interaction of energies at this level.

Even more commonly, systems of understanding identify these verities as corresponding with various reflexive modifications away from the in-differentiated divine mind, each one considered as arising from spiritual ignorance, as asha: wish, desire, hope

  1. chinta: thoughtfulness, anxiety

  2. cesta: effort

  3. mamta: possessiveness, fondness

  4. dhamba: arrogance, vanity

  5. viveka: discrimination

  6. vikalata: languor

  7. ahamkara: conceit, egoism, pride

  8. lolata: covetousness, avarice

  9. kapatata: duplicity, hypocrisy

  10. vitarka: indecision, argumentativeness

  11. anutapa: regret, burning misery

Anahata is associated with the ability to make decisions outside the realm of karma. In Manipura and below, man is bound by the laws of karma and fate. In Anahata one makes decisions ("follows one's heart") based on one's higher self, not the unfulfilled emotions and desires of lower nature. As such, it is known as the heart chakra. It is also associated with love and compassion, charity to others and psychic healing. Meditation on this chakra is said to bring about the following siddhis (abilities): he becomes a lord of speech, he is dear to women, his presence controls the senses of others, and he can leave and enter the body at will.

This chakra is super sensitive and releases the energies based upon the inputs which it gets, may it be from the biological or psychological virtues of the body. With the kind of stress and strain in the society making people out perform each other, the kind of energy which is fed to this chakra is mostly negative and repressive in its nature and hence the output energies are also of the same nature. Vedas apart from illustrating the traits and command which this chakra has, also have mentioned the ways to cleanse this chakra and get positivity out of it. There are very strict regimes which are undertaken to heal this chakra for meditative purposes, but in order to have better societal life, simple breathing exercises can be undertaken and blockages can be removed.


bottom of page